Metro Manila will enter #ECQSeason3 until May 15


Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque announced that the extended community quarantine (ECQ) for several regions including Metro Manila will be extended until May 15. The re-evaluation of another extension of the lockdown is scheduled the day after.

The provinces affected by the third extension of the ECQ include:

National Capital Region, Benguet, Pangasinan, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Tarlac, Zambales, Batangas, Laguna, Cavite, Rizal, Quezon, Oriental Mindoro, Occidental Mindoro, Albay, Catanduanes, Antique, Iloilo, Cebu, Davao Del Norte, and Davao Del Norte.

metro manila, <b> Metro Manila will enter #ECQSeason3 until May 15 </b>
Straits Times

Provinces not mentioned are subject to the ‘new normal’ which is the general community quarantine. Under the GCQ, public transportation and malls will resume but at a reduced capacity. Work will also resume in specific fields, while curfews will still be in effect. People under high-risk of the virus, such as senior citizens, are urged to stay at home.

The Philippines first entered an extended community quarantine from March 17 to April 14, which was later extended to April 30 after the pandemic showed little signs of slowing down. As of writing, the country has 6,981 confirmed cases with 722 recoveries and 462 deaths.


Banner: Straits Times