Don’t you find it annoying when your toxic ex keeps on messaging you? If only there’s one button that you could press to make it all stop. Well, you’re in luck, as Instagram has announced two new safety features to help prevent unwanted people from sliding in your DMs.

The feature only filters DM requests, as Instagram assumes your DM inbox is where you receive messages from friends.

Once the safety filter is on, Instagram will automatically filter out DM requests containing potentially harmful words, phrases, and even emojis. Those messages will be transferred to a hidden requests folder, so users won’t have to see them. 

There is still an option to check the filtered messages, but the safety feature will cover the offensive texts and emojis once viewed. The user will also have the option to accept, delete, or report it.

instagram, <b>IG&#8217;s new safety features won&#8217;t let your ex slide in your DMs</b>
Instagram
instagram, <b>IG&#8217;s new safety features won&#8217;t let your ex slide in your DMs</b>
Instagram

Instagram also added an option for their users to block an account preemptively. With this, it will be harder for the person you blocked to reach you even if they created another account.

According to Instagram’s blog posts, these features aim to combat abusive content on the platform:

We know there’s still more we can do, and we’re committed to continuing our fight against bullying and online abuse. We’ll keep working in partnership with experts, industry organizations, teens, creators, and public figures to understand their experience on Instagram and how we can evolve our policies and products to protect them from online abuse.”

The new safety features will be available in several countries during the coming weeks, with a worldwide release planned in the coming months.